Town Organization

Formed in 1992, Awendaw has a Council form of government with a mayor and six council members. Serving staggered four-year terms, Council members are elected at-large in non-partisan elections every two years. They meet on the first Thursday of every month at Town Hall. Day to day operations are handled by the Town Administrator. The Town has Planning, Housing and Water Departments and partners with Charleston County for business license and building service activities. Police and Fire protection are also provided by Charleston County.

On June 2, 1998, Town Council adopted the following vision statement:

Managed growth is the key to Awendaw’s future. The Town should strive to maintain the existing rural character, yet grow to a moderate-density residential community that has conveniences and some light industrial areas. This growth should promote compatible economic development, safeguard the environment, preserve open space and protect the aesthetic quality while enhancing safe, healthy living conditions. Sensitivity to the rural character of Awendaw and preservation of area waterways and forests will sustain the natural environment and enhance the quality of life of our citizens.

Town Calendar


5jan6:30 pm- 1:00 amBoard of Zoning Appeals Meeting6:30 pm Awendaw Town Hall
26jan6:00 pm- 8:00 pmPlanning Commission Meeting6:00 pm Awendaw Town Hall

Local Weather